JUST IN…Service Chiefs bow to pressure, resign; Buhari names replacements

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday approved the appointments of new Service Chiefs for the nation’s military forces.

This follows the resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

The surprise move comes after months of protracted calls by Nigerians for them to be relieved of their positions in the face of worsening security situation in the country.

The President, according to a statement by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, also named their replacements.

Adesina disclosed that Major General Leo Irabor takes over from General Gabriel Olonisakin as the Chief of Defense Staff, while Major General I Atahiru takes over from Lt. Gen Tukur Buratai as the Chief of Army Staff, amongst others.

RELATED: Wike challenges service chiefs to quit, urges FG to seek foreign help in fight against insecurity

Adesina said: “PMB appoints new Service Chiefs. Maj Gen LEO Irabor, CDS (Chief of Defence Staff), Maj Gen I Attahiru, Army, Rear Adm AZ Gambo, Navy, AVM IO Amao, Air Force.

“He congratulates outgoing Service Chiefs on efforts to bring enduring peace to the country.”

It would be recalled that President Buhari had been reluctant over the years in relieving the service chiefs of their position despite stringent calls by prominent Nigerians, including the National Assembly.

According to many who have called for their sacking, the service chiefs no longer have what it takes to tackle the many security problems the nation is contending with, making it expedient for new hands with fresh ideas to be appointed to take their place.

Those relieved of their positions include General Abayomi Gabriel Olonisakin (Chief of Defence Staff); Lt. Gen. Tukur Buratai (Chief of Army Staff); Vice Admiral Ibok Ibas (Chief of Naval Staff); and Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Chief of Air Staff).

.JUST IN…Service Chiefs bow to pressure, resign; Buhari names replacements. . | ..

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.