New Frank Sinatra Digital Collection ‘Reprise Rarities Vol. 3’ Available Now

Frank Sinatra Reprise Rarities Vol 3

The third collection of rarities from Frank Sinatra’s years on his own Reprise Records is now available digitally. Frank Sinatra: Reprise Rarities Volume 3 has been launched by Frank Sinatra Enterprises and UMe, and features 15 Reprise tracks by “The Chairman of the Board,” all of which are making their digital debut.

The new digital set, the third of five, follows Reprise Rarities Volume 1, released last December in honor of Sinatra’s birthday, and Volume 2, which launched in February for Valentine’s Day. The collections are part of the ongoing 60th anniversary celebrations of the storied vocalist’s founding of the Reprise Records label.

Listen to Frank Sinatra: Reprise Rarities Volume 3 on Apple Music and Spotify.

Once again available via all digital streaming platforms, Volume 3 is another admirable showcase of Sinatra’s peerless vocal stylings. It showcases non-LP singles, alternate versions, and bonus tracks from previously-released box sets. The 15 songs in the collection were recorded between 1960 and 1977.

Highlights include “The Game Is Over,” written by John Denver – then still some time from his own full commercial breakthrough – and arranged by Don Costa. The track was recorded on November 2, 1970, as part of Frank’s last session before his 1971 “retirement.” After he returned to live work and to occasional recording sessions, Ol’ Blue Eyes was in the studio on February 5, 1976, when he cut the rare, piano-only versions of “Empty Tables” and “Send In The Clowns.” Both feature Sinatra’s longtime pianist Bill Miller, whom he first hired in 1951. Apart from a few years, it was a partnership that lasted for the rest of Frank’s life; no other musician worked with him so closely and for so long.

Two tracks in the collection from February 16, 1977 reflect the burgeoning disco sound of the era, with arrangements by Joe Beck of Sinatra’s classics “Night and Day” and “All or Nothing At All.” These remained Frank’s only foray into the disco sound.

This month, to complement the latest digital collection, Siriusly Sinatra (SiriusXM Ch. 71) will air part three of an exclusive Sinatra: Reprise Rarities special.

Frank Sinatra: Reprise Rarities Volume 3 is available now. 


The full Frank Sinatra: Reprise Rarities Volume 3 tracklist is:

1. The Last Dance – December 21, 1960

2. The Second Time Around – December 21, 1960

3. Moment to Moment – October 21, 1965

4. In the Shadow of the Moon – March 25, 1969

5. The Game Is Over – November 2, 1970

6. The Hurt Doesn’t Go Away – June 5, 1973

7. Walk Away – June 22, 1973

8. Empty Tables – May 7, 1974

9. Empty Tables – piano only – February 5, 1976

10. Send In The Clowns – piano only/spoken intro – February 5, 1976

11. Like A Sad Song – September 27, 1976

12. Dry Your Eyes – September 27, 1976

13. Everybody Ought To Be In Love – February 16, 1977

14. Night and Day – February 16, 1977

15. All or Nothing At All – February 16, 1977

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.